R.I.P. 2016

R.I.P. 2016
By Michael McCarty

2016 was a weird year. I was happy to pull off the 2016 calendar off the wall — goodbye and good riddance. Let’s hope that 2017 is better.

grim-reaper6

For me, I left my sales job at Terminix to get a tech job at Orkin.
The Chicago Cubs won the world series — that was awesome! (and Hell didn’t freeze over either).
The election finally ended (Thank God!)
and I had 3 books published in 2016:

BLOODLINE by Michael McCarty & Jody R. LaGreca

bloodline

LIQUID DIET & MIDNIGHT SNACK by Michael McCarty (in trade paperback)

Liquid Diet

and DRACULA TRANSFORMED & OTHER BLOODTHIRSTY TALES by Mark McLaughlin & Michael McCarty

14910502_10211269173795158_2733872433050885013_n

Also Mark McLaughlin and I wrote a film essay for WHEN ANIMALS ATTACK

51vod3py7sl__sx331_bo1204203200_

It was also the Year of the Reaper, especially if you were a celebrity. Here is just some of the Famous People who passed away in 2016:

David Bowie, Prince, Glenn Frey, Alan Rickman, Natalie Cole, Harper Lee, Patty Duke, Frank Sinatra Jr., Keith Emerson, Greg Lake, Sir George Martin, Nancy Reagan, Abe Vigoda, Merle Haggard, Dan Haggerty, Paul Kantner, Muhammad Ali, Michael Cimino, Pete Burns, Arnold Palmer, Gene Wilder, Florence Henderson, Leon Russell, George Kennedy, Leonard Cohen, Garry Shandling, Alan Thicke, Debbie Reynolds, Zsa Zsa Gabor, George Michael and John Glenn.

Horror and science fiction celebrities who passed away in 2016: Carrie Fisher, Kenny Baker, Don Calfa, Larry Drake, Corey Haim, Chilly Billy Cardille, Gunnar Hansen and Herschel Gordon Lewis. (I interviewed Mr. Lewis in MODERN MYTHMAKERS: 35 Interviews with Horror and Science Fiction Writers and Filmmakers).

Modern Mythmakers

Personally, I lost friends Lyle Ernst and “Doctor Bob” Murdock and friend and local musician hero Ellis Kell.

Luckily, I’m not a celebrity, so I didn’t meet my Maker. But if I did … this is how I’d imagine my tombstone would read:

Michael McCarty: America’s greatest writer of unimportant books

This is a link to some of those “unimportant books” ….

(Dracula Transformed)

Paperback: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1479422991/
US Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01K815A3C

(I Kissed A Ghoul)

Amazon:

B&N:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/i-kissed-a-ghoul-michael-mccarty/1109722872?ean=9781620077436

(Modern Mythmakers)

(Bloodline)

(Liquid Diet)

(Kindle)

(Trade Paperback)

https://www.amazon.com/Liquid-Midnight-Snack-Michael-McCarty/dp/1532928947?ie=UTF8&qid=1464832894&ref_=la_B001JS0L06_1_1&refinements=p_82%3AB001JS0L06&s=books&sr=1-1

and

(When Animals Attack)

(Amazon)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

